?
Thanksgiving 2004
November 28, 2004 9:36 pm

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving this year. I don't really like the holiday food (like the idea of the day, though), so I wasn't really excited about it. Also, it is one of Jim's favorite holidays, so I wasn't looking forward to not having him around for it. E woke up about 4 to eat. We watched a bit of Fox & Friends while she did. And what do I see?? Several soldiers from Fort Lewis. So I keep watching. They start to interview a sgt. with whom Jim works (it was cut short b/c of a helicopter overhead)!! Throughout the show they do a few more overview pans and I saw lots of patches from units here. And I catch a glimpse of my hubby!! It was just a quick side-shot but it was definitetly him!!! What a way to start my day!!!!!

I couldn't go back to sleep so I started getting myself ready while E snoozed. Took a relaxingly LONG shower for the first time since September. It was heaven! :)

After getting ready, I finished up the apple cider cookies I was making for our meal and started my barley dish. I couldn't start my corn recipe until I talked to my sister (she's made the recipe before) and E needed to eat by then. Fed E and then called my sister and got my questions answered. I didn't really need to start the corn yet, so E and I played and did a "photo shoot" of pics to send to Jim. She went down for another snooze, so I made the corn recipe and then talked to my sister again. And my grandma.

As my sister and I got off the phone, she told me to kiss E for her. Now, when I had done that for her after our first conversation, E launched into a screaming fit. I should have known better. I did it this time and E proceeded to throw up (a lot!) all over me!! Put her down and changed myself. Dishes were ready, so I got those out of the oven and loaded into the car. At some point, E had lost her clothes so I started to get those back on her so we could leave. And we have an explosive diaper as I'm carrying her upstairs. So I put her down and change my clothes. Again. :) FINALLY we get out the door!!

Dinner was at 2 and we got there a little early so I could help out. E was asleep but as soon as people started arriving, she woke up and started cooing at everyone. :) A couple people took turns holding her and feeding her (I pumped a couple bottles) so I could eat with two hands. That was great! LOL

We spent the rest of the afternoon and early evening just chatting. There were 14 of us plus three kids. A couple husbands had just returned from Iraq, one was home on R&R, one deploys next summer and the rest of us were husband-less. It was really a great way to spend the holiday. Looking around the room at the guys reminded us just how much we have to be thankful for this year.

We got home and I was hoping for a quiet evening. HAHA. We decided to scream and cry for two hours. Nothing would soothe her, I was in tears out of frustration and sadness that I couldn't make it better for her. That kind of crying cuts straight to my core and literally hurts me. She finally passed out for a bit. When she woke up, she was SUCH a happy baby. Whew! We watched Charlie Brown's Thanksgiving, talked to E about what I was thankful for and then I put in Miracle on 34th Street. Add in a walk before CB's T and that is Jim & I's ritual every year. Neither of us made it too far into the movie. WOke up about 1 and put her into her pack 'n play and crashed on the couch. I was too tired to get us upstairs.

All in all, a great Thanksgiving Day.


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?