?
Friday Forum 08/27
August 28, 2004 10:00 pm

I have been SO bad at doing the Friday Forum. I always try to do it on Thursday nights then I get distracted. By the time I think of it again, it is Sunday and it seems too late to do it then. But I'm really going to try to get more in the habit even if it IS Sunday night when I get to it.

1] Do you enjoy it when others make a big deal out of your birthday? Why/why not? When you were growing up, did your family do a lot of birthday celebrating or keep things pretty low-key?

I like a lot of "happy birthdays" and such and maybe a dinner out but I'm not one to have anything big made out of it. Basically, I like the day to be remembered but I'm not one to have a big deal made about me (same with showers, etc.). Growing up it was a mixture of low-key and lots of celebrating. When I was young, I'd almost always have a party of some sort with friends and then celebration with my family (including grandparents and aunts). In my teens, we started combining my birthday, my grandma's birthday and my cousin's birthday celebration onto Thanksgiving (we are all born within a week of it) and that is how we still do it today. When I was young, birthday dinner would be my choice.

2] What did you do for your last birthday, and how do you think you'll spend the next one?

Last year's birthday was a downer of a day. My cousin passed away the day prior, just a couple friends remembered and DH and I fought most of the day (brought on by my bad mood concerning the first two situations). I'm hoping not to repeat it again this year. LOL This year will be very quiet. Just Elizabeth & I. I usually treat myself to a massage, so I'll probably take her to day care and myself to that. And maybe some ice cream out. Nothing big.

3] What are some of the best birthday presents that you've ever received? Do you feel that you are a hard person to buy gifts for? Gift of time with my family! I always loved that on my birthday (on all of our birthdays, actually), it was all about just spending time together. I honestly can't remember many gifts. In first grade I got some awesome Care Bear things--a heart-shaped house, a few bears and the Cloud Mobile. And on my 16th birthday I got my first Snow Village piece. I was SO thrilled to get that. I think I can be hard to shop for. Some years I know my mom has an easier time than others. Varies by what is out there and what I need/want.

4] Where were you born, and what time of day? Do you know what the weather was like then? When you look at your baby pictures, what thoughts come to mind?

I was born in my hometown in Indiana making a 9:06 pm appearance. Since it was December, I'd guess it was cold but I'm honestly not sure. Making a note to ask my mom. When I look at my pictures, I think "Awwwww! What a cutie!!! :D"

5] How do you typically keep track of special events such as birthdays? Is there one month in particular where you have a *lot* of birthdays to celebrate?

I try to do it all on my calendar. I add them to my Outlook calendar and paper version. I hate to admit, though, that I'm not the best at keeping up with special events. I'm really trying though!


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?