?
The day I hoped would never come,
October 11, 2003 12:43 am

is almost here. Tomorrow I see my DIS buddies for the last official meet before I move. :( I can't believe it. Ever since I shared the news with them back in April, I've cried as each meet approached, gotten teary at the meet at least once and then cried after the meet and many times in between, realizing it was one more down before the final one. And here I sit, the night before my last one. As my night-before-the-meet routine dictates, I've taken my shower so I don't have to waste time doing that in the morning, I've filled up the gas tank for the same reason, I've laid out bgmy clothes for the same reason, I've gathered up my goodies for tomorrow, my bag is packed, my camera is laid out, I�ve posted my �woohooo I can�t wait until tomorrow� message on the DIS and I'm giddy with excitement. But tonight is different because I also have a big pile of used tissues beside me. And a tear-stained face. And a sadness that fills my heart in a way that I never expected.

The initial planning for this one began back in August. All along I've said that maybe if we didn't plan it, the day would never come�kinda' like the Little Golden Book story The Monster at the End of This Book. No matter what I've tried to do, time keeps passing, like the reader turning the pages of that book. And now, like the reader turning that last fateful page of the book, I feel the same nervousness and fear that Grover felt at that moment. I'm about to turn in for the night and when I wake up, the day will be here. Unlike Grover, though, I won�t be surprised to find that the monster he feared so much, the one he was so sure would be there, wasn�t really there after all, that he had nothing to fear the entire book.

Four years ago I never imagined it possible to feel this way about a group of people I met on the internet. Today I can�t imagine having ever thought that way.

I know this isn't really good-bye as I'll still be in touch with them via the internet, where the seed for these relationships were planted, and via the phone. And I know we'll meet again in person. The one thing I do NOT fear is losing contact. It�s just so tough to believe that come the next meet, I won't be a part of it.

And so, as I prepare for this my final meet, I thank God for bringing these people into my life. I pray that he always holds each of them near. And I pray that they each know how very thankful I am for having had the opportunity to meet each one, to share so many laughs, to be a part of this amazing group.



previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?