?
Weekend Home
August 25, 2003 11:12 pm

I had an awesome weekend with the family. I got to my dad's Friday at lunchtime. We went to lunch and then we had to go the Hoosier Dome to pick up some Indy tourist booklets. He's organizing a reunion for members of his unit from Vietnam next weekend and the booklets are part of the welcome bags. We went back to his house and hung for awhile before I left for Columbus. My grandpa and step-grandma stopped by shortly after I got there, which was a nice surprise. After they left, we had dinner, ran to Super Wal-mart and bummed around. Saturday I was up really early (I always am when I'm not in my own bed). Mom & I got ready and went out for breakfast and then shopping. We came back and I did some maintenance on her computer before my sister and BIL go there. After some chatting, we headed out to my cousin's wedding. Despite a few disorganizational issues, a late start and other minor frustrations, the ceremony & reception went really well. We got back late and I fell asleep pretty early -- I was quite exhausted. Sunday Mom & I had breakfast and then packed up my stuff. I stopped at my dad's on my way back. My sister & BIL were coming over to help with the welcome bags, so I wanted to stop & help with that. I left later than planned but I'm glad I stayed. I had fun and it was good to just hang out. Things like that are what I miss the most about not being closer. Its not the birthday parties, get togethers, etc...its the stopping by to help with the little things or stopping by randomly for dinner -- things like that. Traffic was awful as I got near the city and what should have been a 3-3 1/2 hour drive turned into a 4 1/2 hour one. Checked my e-mail, fed the cats and then I was off to sleep in my own bed!!


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?