?
Its in the air...
June 04, 2003 9:52 pm

food! I've been thinking about food all day today and then I sat down to write about it in my journal and read others' journals. And what does Vicki talk about? FOOD! LOL Man, I'm *loving* this birthday gift for my sister. I'm having so much fun finding recipes, trying them out and planning the menus. My goal for each month is to have an entree, at least one side dish and then two of the remaining three categories (appetizer, soup, dessert). I had planned to take the May and June recipes down at the wedding but just didn't. May is planned and entered, I just need to print out the menu/shopping list and recipe cards. I'm not decided on June yet. Vicki had suggested a picnic theme, so I'm working on that. I can't find any sandwiches that I think they'd like AND would pack well, so I think I might put "your favorite sandwich" down and then just fill in around it. I have a lemon muffin recipe I'm going to make in the morning. If its good, I plan to include that. And then I'm looking for a pasta or potato salad. And then maybe one more thing. In October I'm doing an "autumn harvest" theme and I'm already excited about that menu! Nutty barley bake, butternut squash/apple soup, pan roasted vegetables, apple maple pie (that's as far as I've gotten). Yum, yum, yum. Anyway, I need to figure out the rest of it and test all the recipes. Ideally I'll put them in the mail next week. My sister, BIL (that sounds weird!!), dad and step-mom are coming up for 4th of July (I can't wait!! In fact, I already have that menu mostly planned out too! LOL Marinated skirt steak and chicken, assemble-your-own vegetable kabobs, bread of some sort, tin roof fudge pie), so I want to have Angie's July recipes ready then.

I've also done some misc. food things today. I needed to put some recipes into Mastercook, so I did that. And planned next week's meals (and boy does that menu look good! LOL). I was out of my "famous" rub, so I made up a batch of that. Due to the cool weather, we haven't grilled out much but I want to do a pork loin this weekend, so I needed to make up my rub anyway. A few people have asked for a jar of my rub, so I'll likely work on that this weekend. I tweaked it a bit this year and I hope its good since I'm giving it away! LOL I also went through the cabinets and got rid of some things I don't use anymore.


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?