?
Doctors...
July 02, 2002 10:09 pm

This afternoon I called to make a follow-up appointment and they were able to fit me in today. The doctor was rather "confused" by my symptoms. Being a young, healthy female, the chances of it having anything to do with the heart is pretty slim. And if I were 30 years older, the symptoms WOULD point more towards the heart. So at this point, all the symptoms DO point to an anxiety-type attack, since it was a first occasion. He explained that sometimes people can have an anxiety-type attack without it being brought on by stress or some other trigger, which is my situation. He isn't convinced that is what it is but as an initial diagnosis, that he what he is leaning towards.

The continued shortness of breath, at any intensity makes him really wonder. He ordered a couple more blood tests and had a chest x-ray done to rule a few more things out. Another thought was a heat-induced asthma issue, since I had been outside for a bit when it first started and I was outside Saturday and then Sunday was really hot and humid. Unfortunately, they can't exactly test for that but can only be diagnosed if the symptoms continue. He also mentioned that it could be something like mitral valve prolapse but, again, other things have to be ruled out first in order to go with that as a diagnosis.

Worst-case scenario could be some type of chest tumor (will get the x-ray results tomorrow or Friday).

So at this point, its more of a waiting game and watching the symptoms for the symptoms to reappear. *sigh*

But I feel listened to and that goes a long way to making me feel more relaxed. I still don't think it is anything anxiety-related. But he LISTENED to me. And he did NOT want to just give me some drugs and tell me to go home and relax. He told me to hang on to that Xanax prescription but only fill it if things do get worse and then I can try it to see if it works. He also suggested that I might try a chiropractor. He said that sometimes when things get out of whack in the spine/back area, breathing can be affected. I forgot to ask for a recommendation, though, so I need to ask when they call about the x-rays and blood tests.

So I'm supposed to rest as much as possible, stay out of the heat and keep track of my symptoms for now.


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?