?
Lesson for the Day...
June 28, 2002 11:47 pm

if your DH leaves the grill on all night (NOT just the gas but actually ignited!!) and you've already grilled quite a bit this year, you will not have gas to cook dinner. But you WILL have very clean grates. Guess how I found this out?! LOL So I had to quickly change dinner around and cooked the pork in a cast iron skillet and the corn in the microwave. The pork chops were awesome! I'll post the recipe below. It was supposed to be for a tenderloin but I didn't have one, so chops it was.

Southwestern Grilled Pork Tenderloin from meals.com--My notes are at the end. Serves 6.

2 whole pork tenderloins
5 teaspoons chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoons crushed dried oregano
3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon vegetable oil

In small bowl, mix together seasonings and vegetable oil together. Rub mixture over all surfaces of tenderloins. Cover and refrigerate 2 to 24 hours. Grill over medium-high heat grill for 15 to 20 minutes, until thermometer inserted reads 155 to 160�F. Let rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

**NOTES: I used two bone-in pork chops (1/2-3/4" thick) and cooked on the stove in a cast iron skillet. I think they could easily be broiled as well. I used a bit more oil, as I wanted the rub to be thinner. And I also added extra garlic. I let the rub sit about four hours and the flavor was great! While it was resting, I topped it with a few drops of fresh lime juice. Its a keeper for us! I plan to make this with a loin next time and then shred the extra meat and freeze to use in tacos. I had some extra rub that I didn't use, so I saved it to make a pan sauce of pan "stuff", garlic, water, flour, a teeny-bit of butter and then the extra rub stuff. Tasted great on the chops!


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?