?
Back on Track...
June 02, 2002 11:51 pm

After a slight detour with our weekend plans, they got back on track early Saturday morning. I slept like crap Friday night, which is nothing unusual these days, so I was wide awake WAY too early. Lounged around watching TV. Jim called about 8:30 and I decided to leave about 10. I wanted to get up and move around to make sure I really did feel okay. So I did a few things around here and then headed out. Since everything but my day bag was already in my car, which was with Jim, I didn't have to pack anything up, so I grabbed my day bag and headed out. The drive was SO nice. Most of it was on a two-lane highway that took me through some beautiful parts of IL. Lots of farms. Little towns. I loved it!! I stopped at a few stores along the way but made great time.

They had just gotten back from swimming when I arrived, so it was good timing. Ate lunch and then decided to head to another nearby state park for some hiking. When we stopped by the park office, there, I noticed a wanted poster--couple people on the run for the murder of several people. That made me feel comfortable--sure, let's go hiking in the woods with killers on the loose. LOL We headed off and the scenery was beautiful! There was a slow-moving river at the end of one of the trails, so we all took off our shoes and made our way in. The water felt good and we had fun wading around. Headed back to our campsites for snacks and cards. As usual, we had fun playing card games and just hanging out. We played cards for a few hours before starting dinner, which was great. Then we cleaned up and sat around the campfire, chatting and eating marshmellows and s'mores. :) Everyone was tired, so we headed to bed after just a few hours. I was wide awake at 6 this morning. Ugh. And then at 7, we were greeted to the tantrum of a child at a nearby campsite, that continued until almost 8. (She didn't want to go home, she was having fun. Sounded like it. LOL) One drawback to camping is that you can't shut the door and tune out a tantrum like you can at a hotel room. She eventually quieted down but we were all up by that point. It was pretty cool today, so we didn't stay too long. But it was SO nice. And I'm so glad we were able to get away!!

This will probably be one of our last couples outtings before one set gives birth. She's due in late August and with busy summer schedules, I don't know if the six of us will get the chance again. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoy everyone. They are a very active couple and I don't see the baby slowing them down, so I'll bet that we'll be out camping this time next year as well.


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?