?
I Could Have Sworn...
May 06, 2002 11:28 pm

that I updated last Thursday or Friday. Guess not!! My days are all blending together lately.

Thursday, Jim comes home from work and tells me that he had to tell me something. Uh-oh. He volunteered for something. Okay... Turns out his division is looking to send some engineers overseas for 1-3 weeks at a time for 2-3 sessions. Sometime between June and November. He had to let them know then if he would volunteer, so he went with it. I truly didn't care that he volunteered without talking to me first. It would be an awesome opportunity for him and look great in his file! Plus, I'd have the chance to go with him!! I wouldn't go for the entire time, since I have two jobs here plus other commitements, but I'd love to go for a week or so. They are only selecting six engineers to go but his boss hinted that he had a good shot since he's been lead on two projects and is currently doing a lot of customer-support stuff, which is what they'd be doing overseas. He's had to call in for several conference calls the past few weekends since he's lead (and actually, the only person in the US working on it) on the project they've been discussing. Of course I'd miss him but it would be SUCH a great opportunity for him!! And I'd love to get to go overseas again!

So, while we were "springing" things on each other, I told him about wanting to go back to WDW in December for the convention my Disney boards are hosting. How could he say anything after volunteering to be gone for that long w/o consulting me?!! :D Perfect opportunity! LOL So, I'm going! Probably Dec 3-8, although I'd love to arrive on the 2nd for my b-day. But it doesn't sound like anyone is getting there until the 3rd. Most people are leaving on the 9th but I really don't think I can swing another night.

I was counting on getting the same great room rate I got last year but it doesn't look like I'll be able to. I really want to get a room alone, as I know I'll be around people constantly when I'm not in my room. However, I also want to stay in the midst of the action and I don't know if I'll be able to swing the finances to do both. I'm sure I can find a roomie w/o any problem but I'm really hoping I can just find an awesome rate so I can be alone. Not that I'm anti-social (I'm only anti-work, Glory Osky, that's why I'm a jerk, Gee, Officer Krumpke) sorry, where was I?? Oh, yeah, its not that I'm anti-social but I think by the end of each night I'm just going to want to be alone to regroup and such. And I don't want to feel any obligatin to stick with my roomie all the time, which I can see myself doing. So we'll see. Need to book airfare first. Spirit is a bit higher than I was hoping and no one else is coming close right now. I got $160 roundtrip about six weeks out last year and its $240 right now. So I think I'll wait a bit before booking it. And I need to figure out room situation first (need to see if a great discount will be provided with the convention package).

I found out from one of the other agents that Disney is offering some amazing travel agent rates in the Fall. $500ish total for two people for a 3 or 4 night. Mentioned to Jim that if he doesn't get this position that maybe we could work in a cruise. And maybe see if any family or friends would want to join. I know my dad and step-mom would love it but since he and Annie are in the process of buying a new house, I doubt they could swing it. And my sister would love it but she's going to Africa for a missionary trip this summer, so I doubt she can either. Don't see my mom and step-dad enjoying it. Jim vetoed his parents going. LOL So I guess we're down to finding friends to join along, if we end up going!! It'd be nice and I wish we could do 7-nighter but there's no way we could swing it unless the rate was REALLY amazing. So we'll see.

And damn its warm in here tonight!! My body is really hurting, so I've been sleeping in the spare room the last few nights but I think I'll head to the living room so I can open the patio door.

I think I'll head there now....


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?