?
Home Again, Home Again
April 14, 2002 10:07 pm

jiggity-jig, home again, home again, to buy a fat pig...or something like that! I don't really remember the words but you get the idea--I'm home. We had a nice weekend overall. It rained most of the way there and most of the way but it held off yesterday. The drive over was okay, except for a ten-minute span when we had to pull over due to the rain. Checked into the hotel, found a local steakhouse (it was great!) and then came back to the room to crash. Watched "EdTV" on TNT--not a bad movie.

Saturday we got up, went to breakfast and then met up with friends who were staying at the hotel also. Two of them had to go on to the wedding for pictures and the rest of us went to the Museum Center. It encompasses a few museums, plus an OmniMax theater and a couple restaurants and stores. When we walked in, we found out it was free that day, so that was cool! We wandered through the Natural Science and History Museum and through a bit of the Children's Museum (which was crazily packed with kids since it was free, so we couldn't do much). It was a nice museum center.

Afterwards, we headed back to the hotel to get ready. The wedding was at 6:30 and it was a Catholic wedding, so we knew we wouldn't be eating until late, so we stopped at O'Charley's for appetizers. The wedding was nice and it didn't seem as long as I anticipated. The bride looked beautiful, of course. Headed to the reception site--it was an okay site but it was divided into two rooms, so it didn't feel very open and you had to go to the other room for the cake and to see the bridal party and then in the other room for the dancing and bar (both had food lines). It was a weird set-up. Dinner didn't start until 9 so we were VERY glad we stopped to eat on the way to the wedding. But it was a nice reception. Food was ehhh. DJ was really good. Their families are big dancers, so everyone was out there. We left at midnight (when it was over) and there were people left still. And then the bride and groom were going back to her house to get her stuff and so she could change and then going to his house (where there was a post-reception party). They started getting ready at 9 that morning, so I don't know HOW she wasn't wiped out by midnight, let alone going longer!! Their flight was at 4 am, so I'm not sure they were even going to sleep! There's no way I could have made it that long! Not to mention, I wanted to get back to the hotel to be with my husband! Not in a sexual way but just to relax and "be" together as husband and wife. We had such a nice time back at the hotel! Taking down my hair, reading the cards (and counting the money! LOL), talking, soaking in the whirlpool tub, going to dinner, sitting in the lounge in our wedding clothes relaxing...it was a perfect ending to our day.

Today we got up and went to breakfast, said good-bye to our friends and then came back. I slept most of the drive. We unpacked and I checked e-mail and played around, exercised, ate dinner, went on another walk, and called a friend. We had a great two-hour talk. She's planning a move out to the East Coast to be near her boyfriend and is rather nervous about it. She's leaving her family, a good job, a house that's paid for and her friends to move out there to an apartment, no job lined up yet, no friends and no family. I can relate with our move here, so we talked a lot about that and what to expect and such. I'm really going to miss her when she moves out there. :-( She lives in Indy, so I don't see her all that often. But I know that we're just a short drive away, if need be. Plus, I doubt I'll hear from her as much as I do know, once she's out there. That's just her way. And I'll miss that. We've been friends for 13 years and haven't always been really close. But in the past few years, we've gotten really close again and I'm just afraid we'll drift again, when she's out there with him. But no use worrying, since I can't do anything about it anyway.

I'm off...have to call in a Cindy's breakfast tomorrow, so I need to try to get to sleep!


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?