?
Living Elsewhere??
March 14, 2002 10:30 pm

So Jim tells me last night that he wants to look for a new job. He doesn't want to quit what he has to look...just look as he's working. He's never *loved* his job, which I always knew. But it was a good place to work--good coworkers, good pay, good benefits. But with all the layoffs that Motorola has been having, morale started to drop last summer. And its continuing. The bullshit is rising, as people are eagerly trying to save their jobs. Morale is basically gone. He likes some of the people he works with but there are a lot of incompetent people, which is making the bullshit worse. There's also been incompetence but when it countered with a good work environment, it wasn't as frustrating. So its been buidling for a while. And I kinda' suspected this would happen soon. He wants to be someplace he loves. He sees how much I love my jobs and wants that for himself. Of course I'll support my husband in his job search. I want him to be happy too. But...

It might mean leaving here. I've always known that we would probably not end up in Indiana. And that was fine. I wanted to stay in the midwest, so we could be close to our families, but agreed to move wherever. An education degree is needed anywhere, so we agreed to basically move wherever Jim's job would take us. When he got this job offer, it was the best one offered, so he took it. I've always loved Chicago, so I was thrilled to be moving here. Great city. Five hours from family. In the back of my mind, I knew we'd probably end up someplace further away in a few more years. But I don't know how much I'm ready to accept that possibility. I grew up surrounded by family. And I want my children to have that experience. Texas, Oregon, Washington, Seattle...none of those are near family. I know that I can still fly home. And I could probably fly home almost as frequently as I go home now. And I know that I don't even go home that much now. But I could if I was needed. Not so easy if we are in Washington. I want my children to really know their grandparents. And this is where Jim and I are different--he didn't really know his grandma, I did. He understands how important family is to me and agrees. But its hard for him to truly understand since he wasn't raised in the same way.

I know I shouldn't even really think about it for now, since we just had this talk last night. There are so many other places I'd love to live--if only my family could live there also. He's really looking for a gaming position. There are a few gaming companies in Chicago. He said he'd love to stay in the area, so I know he's going to focus here. But there's only so many companies to choose from. So who knows. I can work from home anywhere, so no big deal there.

Guess I'll just wait and see what happens and deal with it as it comes...


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?