?
Wonderful, Wonderful Weekend
2001-10-02 9:59 p.m.

I had such an amazing weekend! I wasn't ready for it to end!!

Friday, I left mid-morning and stopped at Purdue to see a couple old professors. Had lunch with them in the Union and then headed on my way to Indy. Did a little shopping and then went to meet my sister at her school. I hadn't been there since just before she started teaching, so it was nice to see her new room and meet a few of the other teachers. After that, we went back to her place to rest. Grabbed McD's on the way. Then hung out and watched ER. Well, I slept. She watched ER. LOL My dad, step-mom and friend were meeting us for dinner that night. Dinner was a surprise. Ang wouldn't tell us where it was or anything about it. We just got in the car and followed her directions. It turned out to be this little hole-in-the-wall that had a "trivia night" once a month. The food was amazing and we had so much fun with the trivia. Each table is a "team" and you compete against everyone. My sister is a huge Trivial Pursuit person, so this was right up her alley. It was a tough set of questions but a lot of fun.

Saturday morning we slept in a bit and then got ready to go. We had some errands to do before we headed to Columbus, so we grabbed lunch and did those. Got to the place for the party on time and started setting up. My grandma, aunt, uncle and cousin were already there. I was so excited to see everyone! My little cousin just lost her first tooth and couldn't wait to show me. :) People started to arrive about 4:30 and we had a wonderful time talking to everyone. Mom, Gary and their friends got there a bit early but it was still a surprise. Mom couldn't believe everyone was there. And then she saw me and *really* couldn't believe it. I really thought she was going to cry. It was so nice!! The party ran for quite a while and was wonderful. We had about 45 people show up, out of the 50ish that we invited, so that was great. Towards the end of the night, my little cousin hurt her head and only wanted my arms. She crawled into them, put her head no my shoulder and drifted off to sleep. We talked a little as she was falling to sleep and I sang to her, just as I used to do when she was a baby. It was such a neat feeling. I miss seeing her grow and change. And she's not that cuddly little baby who used to love to snuggle with me. So Saturday night was extra special. :)

Sunday I tried to sleep in but couldn't. Sat around reading the paper and watching Saturday Morning and the pol. talk shows. Mom made a wonderful breakfast. She doesn't cook much but I love her breakfasts!! Fried potatoes w/sausages, biscuits, bacon, fruit. Yummy! We got ready to go and then headed to Indy for my great-great aunt's 90th birthday party, which was also a surprise! She was also surprised. It was so nice to see so many people, although I really didn't know most. LOL I don't have a side of the family that isn't screwy in some way, and this side is no different. But it was nice. We left early, so I could get back to Chicago. My 3-3 1/2 hour drive took me over 5. I was soooooo tired and just wanted to get home. I didn't walk in until almost 11. Mom had called worried. Jim couldn't sleep until I got home, worried. And I was just plain exhausted. But I got home, safe and sound. Checked e-mail. Crawled into bed. And slept like a baby. :)

Smile! Your smile might be the only one someone sees all day long...


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?