?
The Weekend
2001-08-20 1:43 p.m.

What a weekend. It was so good to go see the family. And relax. But I'm glad to be back.

Wednesday we left about 9 and headed on home. Got stuck in traffic, of course. We didn't do much that day. When we got to Jim's parents, we ate lunch and laid around. Went on a boat ride. Ate dinner. Steak. Yummy.

Thursday early morning I went over to IU to do a couple rape prevention talks. It was so good to be back in that element. I was worried that I was too out of practice but once I got up there, it all fell in place and it went well. When I got done with those, I wandered around campus a bit. I had really missed that place. I wanted to spend more time just walking around but I had to get back to meet my mom. She and I went out to lunch and shopping. Cracker Barrel. Double yum. Got some new tennis shoes and a couple of fall shirts. I really need to work on updating my wardrobe more. Especially summer shirts. I've been watching clearance racks. Thursday night we went to my grandma's for dinner. Everyone was there. It was wonderful. Had a really nice time.

Friday was another lounge around day. Jim swam with his parents. I forgot my suit so I sat around and did some work on the computer and read. Friday night we went out to dinner. Texas Roadhouse. Triple yum. That night we sat around talking to his neighbors. I wanted to get frozen custard but we never made it.

Saturday morning we had to pack up and leave for the wedding. We went to my sister's first, so we didn't both have to drive. She just got a new condo. Very cute. The wedding was nice. It was pretty short. Most people were gone from the reception by about 8:15 and the wedding didn't start until about 6:15! I couldn't believe how quickly everyone left. It stormed pretty bad that night, so it was good they decided against an outdoor wedding! Her kids seemed nice enough. Don't foresee being best friends with any of them. After the wedding we went back to my sister's place to stay.

Sunday we got up and dressed, ate lunch and left.

It was too short of a trip home but it was good. Glad we went those extra days. Looks like I'll be back at the end of September for a surprise birtday party for my mom. It will probably be just me going. But that'll be nice still. Now I need to get back to work. Today's the first day of tutoring and I have a lot of DU work to catch up on.

Smile! Your smile might be the only one someone sees all day long...




previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?