?
Almost over...
2001-08-06 9:37 p.m.

Last week of summer session!!! I have really enjoyed this summer but am *very* glad its almost over. I was talking to one of my students today and she was saying that she had really enjoyed the summer classes with me. Said the best part of the literature group was that I wasn't just giving them a book, I was teaching them about our history. And she was really glad I did. It was so nice to hear that!! I tried to pick out good, historical books because I wanted them to get a glimpse of our history as a country in the 1930s. Two of the books, Out of the Dust (Karen Hesse) and Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Mildred Taylor) did just that. And boy where their eyes opened! Esp. with Roll of Thunder. They couldn't believe how people were treated. And now that they have that knowledge, just maybe they will remember it in their daily interactions. But truly, that class was really the only one that I truly enjoyed. The others were okay but that one was just a great group of kids.

And so it goes...

Smile! Your smile might be the only one someone sees all day long...




previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?