?
Learning to Sew
August 03, 2004 10:28 pm

One of my goals this year was to learn to sew. I'm not one for being terribly precise when crafting--just ask anyone who's scrapbooked with me much. :D Because of that, I was worried how I'd do with sewing.

I've been teaching myself and I'm pretty proud of myself so far! I haven't really done much that requires being extra precise (so no patterns!!). I figured if I started out that way, I could slowly work myself into being more precise. LOL So far I've made a set of curtains, a couple pillowcases, a couple laundry bags for the nursery and a blanket for my cousin's little baby.

Yesterday I went into Jo-Ann's and that location was having a moving sale. I spent more than I planned but got fabric for several projects at good prices. Last night I made a new cover for a floor pillow, so it actually matches our living room. I need to finish off one edge as soon as I figure out how I want to close it off (velcro v. zipper). I also purchased fabric for the curtains in the nursery, a blanket for Elizabeth & for my sister & BIL's soon-to-be-adopted girl and curtains for the dining room window & kitchen door. My cousin & I have matching blankets that my grandma made us when we were little (we both still sleep with them :-), so I thought it'd be neat to make Elizabeth & her cousin matching ones also.

I went in with my main goal as fabric for a bag to hang on the crib. What didn't I get?? That stupid fabric! LOL I started looking for fabric and found a possibility. But then I got distracted by other fabrics and forgot. Oh well, I'll work on these projects this week & weekend and maybe try again next week!!


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?