?
Good Luck G.I. Jim
July 26, 2003 10:09 pm

The party last night was a total success!! Up until we walked into our friends' house, he totally thought we were going to the American English concert at Algonquin's town festival!! The look on his face was priceless! If he were a girl, I'm sure he would have cried. :) The guys had done a great job decorating. They found all kinds of military/camoflauge decorations, paper products, balloons, etc...They had gotten a cute cake at Sam's Club. It was decorated in camo colors (white icing though), had the little green army men figurines on it and had "Good Luck G.I. Jim" on it. Very cute. It was great to meet some of Jim's old co-workers that I had never met. And even his two direct supervisors and boss above them showed up. The turnout was awesome--almost everyone that was invited was able to come! We truly had such a wonderful evening and I am so, so thankful to the hosts. Their thought to have the party and all the work that went into it really touched me. When I came back inside with their thank-you gifts, they were so surprised. They said I wasn't supposed to be giving THEM anything as the party was their gift to us. But I just had to show my appreciation somehow. And I cried a little as I was telling them that. The three couples that hosted it made sure to remind me that if I needed ANYTHING while Jim was gone, they were just a phone call away. And promised to call me when they get together. And that made me cry even more. :) Everything came together to make a really perfect evening.

PS--I have some pictures but I didn't take as many as I had planned. I got caught up in so many other things. Anyway, my plan is to spend part of tomorrow downloading pics from the camera, uploading them to our website and updating our webpage. So hopefully tomorrow I'll get them posted.


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?