?
Another Friday....
April 26, 2002 10:54 pm

Overall, a good day. Sun was shining, which put me in a great mood. I feel like I can do anything when the sun is out. Everything is right with the world.

Or so I thought.

I came home from the doc appointment (which went well, should know results Monday, cool guy--had one of those cool wool/fuzzy shirts on. gray. i have a green one. belonged to a dear friend. made me think of him and shed a tear at what he has missed out on since his death. god i miss him. we loved days like this. used to sit out on the mall. blowing bubbles. laughing. talking. for hours.) Turned on the computer and saw the news about the school shooting in Germany. And I thought back once again to the Columbine shooting. I was a senior in college, majoring in education. I had met a classmate after classes and we got back to my apartment to work on our final lesson plans for a group we were tutoring. My roommate came out and told us the news. We were glued to the TV for the rest of the evening, when we weren't talking about how those teachers could be us in a few short years. And then I was doing my student teaching and we had to do intruder drills. The classrooms had one solid wall of windows. And the kids knew. And I cried that that was their reality. If I were to die teaching, then so be it. Dying doing something you love.

So then I get an e-mail from one of my clients asking if I had heard about the WDW drowning...no...so I pull up my boards and find the news. Some guy had a fight with his wife after dinner. She took the kids back to the hotel room to cool off. He walked away to cool off. This morning she filed a missing person's report. This afternoon they found his body in the lagoon.

So tonight DH and I are cuddling while watching a movie (Riding in Cars with Boys--cute movie). He goes to bed and I come in here. Open up my e-mail and find out that there was another WDW death today. Some guy fell from a balcony at the Contemporary (not yet sure if he was pushed or jumped). One of my bosses was there and heard a large boom--they thought it was thunder but it was the sound of the guy's body meeting his death.

And so it goes...


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?