?
A thank you...
January 02, 2005 4:23 pm

for all the e-mails, calls, prayer requests and good thoughts I received after the mess hall attack in Mosul. I was a lucky one. In the wee hours of Christmas Eve morning, I received a call from an uninjured DH. After the call, I snuggled on the couch with our daughter and sobbed. Thankful that my husband was alive. Sadness knowing that meant another family wasn't so lucky.

A few others in his shop weren't quite as lucky though none were fatally wounded. Six families on our base never again heard from their soldiers. One of the fallen soldiers is the husband of someone I know. Since November, we've lost seven soldiers in non-combat ways. The six who were eating lunch and one who was relaxing in his trailer. You expect losses due to combat but eating lunch is another story...

I'm trying to respond to all the e-mails but in case I miss any and, for those who held good thoughts/prayers but didn't send an actual e-mail, I wanted to put a thanks here.


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?