?
Weekend and Trip Home
April 13, 2004 9:33 pm

I was so sad when I woke up today...the end of a long weekend for us! DH had Friday and Monday off, which was wonderful. We had beautiful weather Friday-Sunday and we spent a lot of time outside doing things and running random errands and just spending time together. Friday I had to go for volunteer training and Monday I worked there for a few hours. Enjoyed it. I think I'll fit in well there. I got to do some proofreading while I was there (even with a red pen!), so I was way happy. LOL And the director said that since I enjoyed it so much and did such a great job, they had more for me to do. LOL While most people wouldn't see that as a reward, I do! :) While my journal isn't always written in the most correct grammaitcal form, I DO have the skills. I am often lazy here as it is usually midnight-ish when I'm writing. And the gramattical section in my brain shuts off closer to 9. ;)

On the plus side, this week is a short one--I leave Thursday for not-quite-a-week visiting the family. And, as it turns out, I might be up in Chicago for part of the trip! When they found out I was going to be in IN, a couple friends asked if I wanted to come up. They already had plans but are trying to rearrange them. And I need to talk with my family again to make sure it all works. If not, they offered to take Tuesday off and meet me half-way for a meal. Either way would be nice but going to Chicago would give me a chance to see other people too. The thought of the long drive up there for such a short period of time doesn't amuse me but if it can work out, I'll gladly do it. And if it doesn't work this time, Jim and I are planning a two or three day trip up there when we go home for his block leave this summer. His old co-workers want to see him/us before he deploys to Iraq. As typical guys (DH and his co-workers), I didn't expect they'd all keep in contact very well but I've been pleasantly surprised at how well they have. It is good to feel missed. :)

Anyway, I'm really looking forward to this trip. In addition to being excited about seeing the rest of the family, I especially can't wait to see my baby cousin. I can't believe he's two months old and I haven't yet held him. I told his mom to arrive plenty early Monday and plan to stay late so I could get lots of time with him. Forget my other cousins Monday, I just want him! ;)


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?