?
Still Coming!
July 02, 2003 10:27 pm

I talked to my sister tonight and, whew, they are still coming!! They don't have any pets so if I had gotten rejected for NO pets in addition to being rejected for a yappy dog, my day would have really been shot! LOL She sounded upset about their decision but didn't say anything. But we put the wheels in motion for new plans and I'm really excited. It'll be great to have a weekend with just the two of them and I look forward to getting to know Andy better this weekend.

The rest of my day was pretty good. I needed to be more workd-productive than I was (always the case) but that's okay, its been a pretty slow week. I straightened up some but plan to do that a lot tomorrow. Then tonight I started To Kill a Mockingbird with my students. I think its really going to be too much for some of them but...It was a little amusing when we were reading aloud. The student who was reading just kinda' mumbled when she came across the first cuss word. And then again for the second. I stopped and told them that, when reading aloud, they could skip over any word they wanted to or they could say it. The one who was reading said she wasn't sure if she was allowed. I said its fine, as long as its in the context of the text itself. I think they then thought it was pretty cool to be able to cuss in front of their teacher (ah, to be a 12-year old again). In a regular school setting it'd be much different, which is just one more reason why I adore my set-up. I am so going to miss it and my kids. *sigh*


previous + next + currently + archives + notes + image + design + host + other reads + guestbook


?
?